8. Gurbaani Raag Wadahans

Little has been written about this rare raga. It is not in the Ragmala, and today it is ascribed to the Kafi thata. Fifty-three sabdas plus numerous slokas represent the total number composed to this raga by Guru Nanak, Guru Amar Das, Guru Ram Das and Guru Arjan. Vadahans is considered suitable for the cold season and is assigned to the afternoon hours. Its mood is quiet and tender. Texts set to the raga explain how the Guru alone can lead one to the Lord. Without the Lord one is likened to a woman without the love of her spouse.

Aroh  Sa Re Ma Pa, Dha Ni Pa, Ni Sa

Avroh  Sa Ni Pa, Dha Na Ga Re, Sa Ni Sa

Vadi  Re

Samvadi  Pa


Raga Wadhans is a complete raga of Khmaj (thath) School of Music. It is sung in two different forms:

Aurav (raga of five notes), in this form note ga and dha are omitted,

Khaurav sampooran (where arohi has 6 notes (ga is omitted) whereas avrohi has 7 notes).

This raga is not included in the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib.

The scale and notes of first form are as follows:

Arohi (ascending scale) - sa re ma pa dha ni pa ni sa

Avrohi (descending scale) - sa ni pa dha ma ga re sa ni sa

The vadi (most popular) note is 'pa' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'ra '.

The scale and notes of the second form are as follows:

Arohi - sa re ma pa dha ni pa ni sa

Avrohi - sa ni pa dha pa ma re sa

This raga is sung at the fourth part of the day i.e., from 3 p.m to 6 p.m. The season of its recitation is winter (shisher) i.e., during December and January. In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 557 - 594 (38 pages).

The Composers  

The composers of bani (hymns) in this raga are : 


  • Guru Nanak

  • Guru Amardas

  • Guru Ramdas

  • Guru Arjan Dev






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.