31. Gurbaani Raag Jaijaawanti

Jaijavanti was used only by Guru Tegh Bahadur for four hymns. This raga does not appear in the Ragmala but was known as Javanta as early as the 14th century. Today it is regarded as an important raga belonging to the Khainaj thata. This majestic and highly arresting raga is assigned to the night hours.

Aroh  Sa, Re Ga Ma Pa, Ni Sa

Avroh  Sa Ni Dha Pa, Dha Ma, Re Ga Re Sa

Pakar  Re Ga Re Sa, Ni Dha Pa Re

Vadi  Re

Samvadi  Pa


According to Bhai Kahn Singh Nabha this raga is a mixture of Bilawal and Sorath ragas. There is no mention of this raga in any ancient book of Indian music. According to Dr. Rattan Singh jaggi, this raga belongs to Kmach thata.

This raga is not mentioned in the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib.

The scale and notes of the raga are as follows:

Arohi (ascending scale) - re ga re sa , re ga, ma pa dha pa, ni sa Avrohi (descending scale) - sa ni dha pa, dha ma ga re, re ga re sa

The vadi (most popular) note is 're' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'pa'.

This raga is sung in the first part of the night i.e., 6 p.m. 9 p.m. The season of its recitation is summer (grikham) i.e., during May - June. In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 1352 - 1353 ( 2 page).

The Composers

The composers of bard (hymns) in this raga are:


  • Shri Teg Bahadur Sahib ji






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.