29. Gurbaani Raag Kalyaan

The Indian Sanskrit name for this raga is Kalyan and the Persian is Yuman. In the Ragmala, Kalian is the son of Dipak while today it is the head of the Kalian thata. It is performed during the first part of the night and is considered a blessing bringing all good into one's life. Guru Ram Das and Guru Arjan composed 23 hymns to this raga. The texts exalt the far-reaching and all-pervading power of the Lord. In the Holy Book the only raga variant given is Bhopali (Bhupali).

Aroh  Ni Re Ga, tif'a Pa, Dha, Ni Sa .

Avroh  Sa Ni Dha, Pa, M'a Ga, Re Sa

Pakar  Ni Re Ga, Re Sa, Pa M'a Ga, Re Sa

Vadi  Ga

Samvadi  Ni


It is a very famous raga. Its form is very beautiful and melodious. It is a raga of Kalyan thata.

There are 14 variations of this raga:

  • 1. Shudh Kalyan

  • 2. Eaemen Kalyan

  • 3. Bhopal Kalyan

  • 4. Puria Kalyan

  • 5. Hamir Kalyan

  • 6. Khem Kalyan

  • 7. Sanvri Kalyan

  • 8. Sayam Kalyan

  • 9. Kamodhi Kalyan

  • 10. Nut Kalyan

  • 11. Home Kalyan

  • 12. Jaet Kalyan

  • 13. Nayki Kalyan

  • 14. Binod Kalyan

This raga is mentioned as a son of of raga Deepak in the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib.

The scale and notes of the raga are as follows:

Arohi (ascending scale) - sa, ni re ga ma pa, dha ni sa

Avrohi (descending scale) - sa ni dha pa, ma ga re sa

The vadi (most popular) note is 'ga' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'pa'.

This raga is sung in the fourth part of the day i.e., 3 p.m. 6 p.m. The season of its recitation is rainy (varsha) i.e., during July-August. In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 1319 - 1326 (8 pages).

The Composers

The composers of bani (hymns) in this raga are:


  • Guru Ramdas

  • Guru Arjan Dev






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.