2. Gurbaani Raag Maajh

This raga is attributed to Guru Nanak, who developed it from a Punjabi folk tune. It does not appear in the Ragmala nor does it seem to be a classical raga today. Possibly it has been reserved purely for Gurbani Sangeet. Majh was the setting for compositions by Guru Nanak, Guru Angad, Guru Amar Das, Guru Ram Das and Guru Arjan.

Aroh  Sa Re Ma Pa Dha Sa

Avroh  Sa Ni Dha Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

Vadi  Ma

Samvadi  Sa


The raga is sung to describe the lacerations of a beloved in the memory of his/her lover. The shabad of Guru Arjan 'mera maan lochey.... is the best example to describe the depth of this raga. The notes used in this raga are:

Arohi (ascending scale) sa re ma pa ni sa (omitted notes are -ga, dha)
Avrohi (descending scale) sa ni-(soft note) dha pa ma ga-(soft note) re sa
The vadi (most popular) note is 're' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'pa'.

Raga Majh is sung at the third part of the day i.e., from 12 noon to 3 p.m. The season of its recitation is rainy (varsha) i.e., during July and August. This raga is not listed in any of the Ragamala (there are 11 of such Ragmalas available in the Indian musical circles) including the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib. It is believed that this raga was formed/invented by the Sikh Gurus.

In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 94-151 (157 pages).

The Composers

The composers of bani (hymns) in this raga are:


  • Guru Nanak Dev

  • Guru Angad

  • Guru Amardas

  • Guru Ramdas

  • Guru Arjan Dev






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.