11. Gurbaani Raag Jaitsaree

Jaitsri does not appear in the Ragmala nor is it found in the modern literature on the subject. Bhatkhande gives,Jait-Kalyan but this is not to be confused with the above. However, jaitsri does appear in a 17th century classification, but not in later ones. Guru Ram Das, Guru Arjan and Guru Tegh Bahadur composed 30 hymns, a var and several slokas to this raga. Today raga Jait is found under the Marva thata and is assigned to the evening hours. A mood of gentle quietness and mystery pervades this raga. The texts describe the meditative thoughts of a devotee who has surrendered himself to his Guru and Lord. Raga Jait has two forms and the second includes some elements from Sin Raga and perhaps this is nearest the original Jaitsri.

Aroh  Sa Ga Ma Pa Ni Sa

Avroh  Sa Ni _Dha Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

Pakar  Sa, Ga Pa M'a Dha Pa M'a Ga,M'a Ga Re Sa

Vadi  Ga

Samvadi  Ni

Because of the two different ways of singing this raga, melodic patterns are not fixed


According to Norther school of Music this raga is classified as a ragini. It is made up of a mixture of Dhanasri, Dhani and Sri ragas.

This raga is not included in the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib.

The scale and notes of the raga are as follows:

Arohi (ascending scale) - sa ga ma pa ni sa

Avrohi (descending scale) - sa ni dha pa ma ga re sa

The vadi (most popular) note is 'ga' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'na'.

This raga is sung at the third part of the day i.e., from 12 p.m. to 3 p.m. The season of its recitation is winter (shisher) i.e., during December and January. In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 696 - 710 (15 pages).

The Composers

The composers of bani (hymns) in this raga are:


  • Guru Ramdas

  • Guru Arjan Dev

  • Guru Tegh Bhadur


  • Ravidas






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.