7. Gurbaani Raag Bihaagara

Bihaagara is very similar to the modern and yen , popular raga Biliag. The resemblance is so close that many performers have trouble maintaining the significance of each. Bihagara is not given in the Ragmald. Today it is classified under the Bilaval thata. Guru Rain Das, Guru Arjan and Guru Tegh Bahadur set a total of 17 sabdas, chhants and a var to this raga. The performance time is between y p.m. and midnight, and the mood is devotional and tranquil. The texts composed to this raga describe the complete peace and response that come to man when he surrenders all to the Lord.

Aroh  Ni Sa Ga Ma Pa Ni Sa

Avroh  Sa Ni Dha Pa Ni Dha Pa Dha Ga Ma Ga Re Sa

Vadi  ga

Samvadi : Ni


Raga Bihagra is made up of ragas Kedara, Gauri and Siam. There is no mention of this raga in the Ragamala listed at the end of Guru Granth Sahib. In the Kali Nath School of music it is listed as a consort of raga Bhairav, whereas in the Bharat School it is listed as a son of raga Deepak, and in the Hindi Shabad Sagar it is listed as a son of raga Hindol. In Nad Binod's school it is titled as 'Bihag, and Chhaya Bihag'. According to Bhai Kahn Singh it is a form of raga Bilawal. The scale and notes of the raga are as follows:

Arohi (ascending scale) - ni sa ga ma pa ni sa (omitted notes are -ga, ni)
Avrohi (descending scale) - sa ni dha pa na-dha-pa ma-ga-ma ga re sa
The vadi (most popular) note is 'ga' and samvadi (second most popular) note is 'ni'

This raga is sung at the second part of the night i.e., from 9 p.m. to 12 a.m. The season of its recitation is winter (hement) i.e., during November and Decembe. In Guru Granth Sahib it has hymns from pages 537 - 556 ( 20 pages).

The Composers

The composers of bani (hymns) in this raga are:


  • Guru Nanak Dev

  • Guru Amardas

  • Guru Ramdas

  • Guru Arjan Dev

  • Guru Tegh Bahadur






























This Web Site Material Use Only Gurbaani Parchaar & Parsaar & This Web Site is Advertistment Free Web Site, So Please Don,t Contact me For Add.